ENUMATH 2017 was organized by the University of Bergen, September 25 - 29th 2017. The conference was held in Voss, a small town tucked into the mountains of Western Norway. As a special favor from the weather gods, sun prevailed the entire week, constituting a small local miracle.

Some statistics:

  • Number of participants: 334 from 128 institutes
  • Number of minisymposia: 29
  • Number of talks: 303 (230 minisymposia talks, 73 contributed talks)

The ENUMATH 2017 Proceedings Volume to be published by Springer as in the previous years.

The organizers wish to thank all speakers and participants for making ENUMATH 2017 such a great success. We hope to see you all again in two years time, at ENUMATH 2019!

Local organizing committee

Inga Berre, Petter E. Bjørstad, Jakub W. Both (administration), Helge K. Dahle, Ingeborg G. Gjerde (administration), Stine Haugsbø (administration), Kundan Kumar, Hans Munthe-Kaas, Florin A. Radu (chair)

Conference Sponsors

  • The Research Council of Norway
  • Springer
  • University of Bergen
  • Department of Mathematics

Inivted Speakers

  • Vivette Girault (UPMC, Paris, France)
    Title: Some numerical simulation of hydraulic fractures in poro-elastic media
  • Barbara Kaltenbacher (University of Klagenfurth, Austria)
    Title: All-at-once versus reduced formulations of inverse problems and their regularization
  • Kent-Andre Mardal (University of Oslo, Norway)
    Title: The operator preconditioning framework with various applications to interstitial fluid flow and the aging human brain
  • Fabio Nobile (École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland)
    Title: Dynamical low rank approximation of random time dependent PDEs
  • Ricardo Nochetto (University of Maryland, USA)
    Title: Thermally Actuated Bilayer Plates
  • Anthony T. Patera (MIT, USA)
    Title: Model Order Reduction for Component-to-System Analysis of Parametrized Partial Differential Equation
  • Sorin Pop (Hasselt University, Belgium)
    Title: Numerical Methods for porous media flows
  • Marie E. Rognes (Simula, Oslo, Norway)
    Title: Compatible discretizations in our hearts and minds
  • Rob Scheichl (University of Bath, UK)
    Title: Multilevel Monte Carlo and beyond
  • Lourenco B. da Veiga (University of Milano-Bicocca, Italy)
    Title: Virtual Elements for Magnetostatic Problems
  • Antonella Zanna (University of Bergen, Norway)
    Title: Mathematics & Medicine - how mathematics, modelling and simulation can lead to better diagnosis and treatment

Scientific committee

  • Peter Benner (Max Planck Institute, Magdeburg, Germany)
  • Jan Thije Boonkkamp (University of Technology, Eindhoven, Netherlands)
  • Malte Braack (Kiel University, Germany)
  • Annalisa Buffa (CNR Imati, Pavia, Italy)
  • Alexandre Ern (ENPC, Paris, France)
  • Luca Formaggia (Politecnico di Milano, Italy)
  • Martin Gander (Université de Genève, Switzerland)
  • Francisco J. Gaspar (University of Zaragoza, Spain)
  • Jean-Frédéric Gerbeau (Inria, Paris-Rocquencourt, France)
  • Marcus Grote (University of Basel, Switzerland)


  • Innovative Numerical Methods and their Analysis for Elliptic and Parabolic PDEs (Ricardo H. Nochetto, Andreas Veeser)
  • Mathematical aspects for flows in fractured porous media (Alessio Fumagalli, Eirik Keilegavlen)
  • Modeling and Simulation of Sea Ice (Madlen Kimmritz, Thomas Richter)
  • Polyhedral methods and applications (Paola Antonietti, Stefano Berrone, Daniele Di Pietro, Marco Verani)
  • Generalized Sampling, Reduced Modeling and sparse recovery (Olga Mula, Clarice Poon)
  • Recent Advances in Space-Time Galerkin Methods and Applications (Markus Bause, Boris Vexler)
  • FEM meshes with guaranteed geometric properties (Sergey Korotov, Jon Eivind Vatne)
  • New frontiers in domain decomposition methods: Optimal control, model reduction, and heterogeneous problems (Gabriele Ciaramella, Martin J. Gander)
  • Discretizations and solvers for multi-physics problems (Francisco José Gaspar, Carmen Rodrigo)
  • Reduced order models for time-dependent problems (Marie Billaud-Friess, Virginie Ehrlacher, Alexandre Ern)
  • Efficient Propagation of Uncertainties in Hyperbolic Partial Differential Equations (Per Pettersson, Daniel S. Olderkjær)
  • Limiter techniques for flow problems (Sandra May, Stefan Turek)
  • Monge-Ampère solvers with applications to illumination optics (Jan ten Thije Boonkkamp, Wilbert IJzerman)
  • Biomembranes, Elastic Shells, and Complex Interfaces Symposium (Shawn W. Walker, Thomas Yu)
  • Uncertainty Propagation (Alexey Chernov, Oliver Ernst, Sebastian Krumscheid, Fabio Nobile)
  • Mixed and nonsmooth methods in numerical solid mechanics (Fleurianne Bertrand, Oliver Sander)
  • A posteriori error estimation, adaptivity and approximation (Christian Kreuzer, Andreas Veeser, Pietro Zanotti)
  • Noncommutative stochastic differential equations: Analysis and simulation (Kurusch Ebrahimi-Fard, Simon J.A. Malham, Anke Wiese)
  • Kernel methods for large scale problems: Algorithms and applications (Elisabeth Larsson, Gabriele Santin)
  • Advanced discretization methods for computational wave propagation (Julien Diaz, Marcus Grote)
  • Unfitted Finite Element Methods: Analysis and Applications (Erik Burman, Mats Larson, Maxim Olshanskii, Arnold Reusken)
  • Advances in numerical linear algebra methods and applications to PDEs (Valeria Simoncini, Mattia Tani)
  • Numerical Methods in Biophysics (Fred Vermolen, Etelvina Javierre)
  • Structure preserving discretizations and high order finite elements for differential forms (Snorre H. Christiansen, Ragnar Winther, Ana Alonso Rodrıguez, Francesca Rapetti)
  • PDE Software Frameworks (Robert Klöfkorn, David Ham)
  • Approximation of multi-scale nonlinear PDEs (Adrian Muntean, Omar Lakkis, Chankdrasekhar Venkataraman, Martin Lind)
  • Numerical methods for simulating processes in porous media (Iuliu Sorin Pop, Raphael Schulz, Peter Knabner, Barbara Wohlmuth)
  • Model reduction methods for simulation and (optimal)
  • control (Peter Benner, Jan Heiland, Martin Stoll, Ralf Zimmermann)
  • Recent advances on polyhedral discretizations (Paola Antonietti, Stefano Berrone, Daniele Di Pietro, Marco Verani)